Things aren’t always what they seem….

27 Mar

I’ve been spending A LOT of time on CraigsList. Sorting through ads, trying to find the best of what I want. Just when I think I found perfection, I get a good look of what I’ve been promised…. and then I’m let down.

What in the world could I be talking about???

A new place to live!

My search has been going on for 1 week and I’m already feeling frustrated, lots of time wasted and disappointed. Since I always try to be positive in a situation, here are some things I have learned.

  1. “Vintage” is a trendy way of saying, “This place is old as heck and we won’t update it.”
  2. If laundry is listed as an amenity, it doesn’t mean a thing unless if the ad states “Laundry in Unit.”
  3. Most of Chicago dislikes dogs. (No normal person dislikes dogs!)
  4. Roof top deck means you share with everyone in the building and guess what — EVERYONE will be using your grill.
  5. I have way too much stuff for a one bedroom apartment and trying to fit in a husband.
  6. If you have to email someone for pictures, the place is probably crap.

I’m really ready to find us a new home. I like my free time. I like to cook. Free time and cooking haven’t been happening much lately. Something has got to give and it won’t be my expectations in an apartment.

Hopefully my next post will be about how I completely over-reacted to this apartment hunting thing 🙂 …. and maybe a celebratory dinner!

3 Responses to “Things aren’t always what they seem….”

  1. Bill March 27, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    Welcome to married life!

  2. thekitchenbitch March 28, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    Good luck! I highly recommend Apartment People .It’s free and they take you around to all the different places so you don’t have to find them all yourself. Sooo much better than Craigslist.

  3. Mary Van Groll March 31, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Hi Megan,
    Sorry you didn’t have the same quick solution to your property quest as Bill did.
    Good luck to you.

    MVG, the Villages

Show some love and make a comment!

