Better than a Peanut Butter Cup

13 Mar

I gave up sweets for Lent. šŸ˜¦ I was hoping to kick the habit of wanting something sweet after a meal. That habit has yet to die. I went to a benefit this weekend for Bear Necessities and I ended up on the dance floor with a Priest. (Strange I know. But he was a great dancer!) I told him about giving up sweets for Lent but I still had a dessert at the benefit because it’sĀ a special occasion. I guess I needed to getĀ the guilt off of my chest. He just laughed and said, “Well, it’s almost Sunday. You’re allowed to cheat when Sunday comes around.” That used to be the rule in my house growing up, but I thought it was a nice gesture my parents did and rewarded us with keeping our Lent promise all week.

If a Priest says so, I’m not going to tell him no. So I baked this.

And I ate some on Sunday.

I also shared with one of my favorite local business’, Dimo’s Pizza. They proposed a food exchange — I’d bring in a sweet treat and in return, I get a pizza. DEAL!

This recipe for Chocolate Cake (it’s vegan!) and Peanut Butter Butter-Cream Forsting is better than a your everyday peanut butter cup. The chocolate chips baked into the cake don’t completely melt, so it’s very chocolatey! The peanut butter frosting is whipped until it’s very airy. I love how the frosting wasn’t too sweet.

If you’re a chocolate & peanut butter fan, this cake will not disapoint you! Perfect for any occasion — a BBQ dessert, birthday cake or just a good way to treat yourself!

Chocolate Cake & Peanut Butter Frosting (from Bon Appetit)

Chocolate Cake

  • Nonstick vegetable oilĀ  spray
  • 1 1/4 cupsall-purpose flour
  • 1 cupsugar
  • 3/4 cup natural unsweetened cocoaĀ  powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoonskosher salt
  • 1 teaspoonbaking soda
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped semisweet orĀ  bittersweet chocolate (3 1/2 ounces)

Peanut Butter Buttercream

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup egg whites (from about 2 largeĀ  eggs)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup creamy peanutĀ  butter
  • 6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) chilled unsaltedĀ  butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
  • Kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup chopped semisweet or bittersweetĀ  chocolate (about 1 3/4 ounces)
  • 1/4 cup chopped unsalted, dry-roastedĀ  peanuts

Chocolate Cake & FrostingĀ Directions

  • Cake – Preheat oven to 350Ā°. Coat bottom and sides of pan withĀ  nonstick spray; line bottom of pan with parchment paper. Whisk flour and next 4Ā  ingredients in a large bowl. Add oil, vanilla, and 1 1/4 cups water; whisk untilĀ  smooth. Fold in chopped chocolate. Scrape into prepared pan; smooth top. BakeĀ  until a tester comes out clean when inserted into center, 35ā€“40 minutes. LetĀ  cool completely in pan on a wire rack.
  • Frosting – Combine sugar and egg whites in a medium metal bowl set over aĀ  saucepan of simmering water. Whisk constantly until sugar dissolves and mixtureĀ  is hot to the touch, 3ā€“4 minutes. Remove from heat; usingĀ  an electric mixer,Ā  beat on high speed until cool and thick, 5ā€“6 minutes. Beat in vanilla, thenĀ  peanut butter. With mixer running,Ā  add butter a few pieces at a time, beatingĀ  to blend between additions. Season with salt.
  • Run a thin knife around pan to release cake. Invert cake ontoĀ  a serving plate. Spread peanut butter buttercream over top. Garnish with choppedĀ  chocolate and peanuts. DO AHEAD: Can be made 1 day ahead.Ā  Store airtight at room temperature.

 

 

4 Responses to “Better than a Peanut Butter Cup”

  1. chasingtimemedia March 13, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    This looks really good!

  2. soididitmyself March 13, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    Oh! How yummy does that look! I have to turn away so I don’t drool on my keyboard!

  3. Megan March 16, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    I wish I was eating that right now!!!

  4. chocolateandmore October 15, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    There is no better combination than Chocolate and Peanut Butter! I need to see if my pizza joint will work out the same deal with me! Your cake sounds so decadent and I love the way you only frosted the top, adds a bit of elegance to the cake. Pinned!

Show some love and make a comment!

