Two Words – Wine Cupcakes

15 Feb

When two of my favorite things collide, you get a wine cupcake.

I can’t claim this was my idea. My friend, Maria, presented me with this challenge. She had some cupcakes made with wine and asked me to re-create it. Maria doesn’t ask for much and isn’t demanding… how could I turn her down?

My favorite wine (at the moment) is sauvignon blanc. I love how sauvignon blanc has a crispy & citrus flavor. It’s usually my go to wine in the summer, but my love for it has carried over into our winter season. I’m blaming our lack of cold weather & no snow. I’m usually bottoms up in pinot noir by this time of year.

Besides making a wine cupcake & frosting, I made lemon curd to fill the center of the cupcake. Gotta keep the citrus taste in every bite!

Tools you’ll need for this recipe – muffin pan, electric mixer (standing or hand), 2 pastry bags and a decorative tip for one pastry bag.

This is a fun cupcake to serve on a girls night or bring to a party. Combining wine & cake — what’s there not to like??!!

Sauvignon Blanc Cupcakes – makes 16 cupcakes

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 stick of unsalted butter, softened at room temperature
  • 3/4 cup granulated white sugar
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons grated orange zest
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup Sauvignon Blanc ( I used Dancing Bull)
  • Lemon curd, recipe below
  • Sauvignon Blanc Frosting, recipe below

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Sift together your flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. In the base of your electric mixer (or you can use a hand mixer), beat the softened butter with the 3/4 cup of granulated white sugar until light and really fluffy (about 2 minutes). Add the eggs 1 at a time, beating each well until incorporated. Whisk in the orange zest and add your vanilla extract.
  4. Add the flour mixture in two steps, alternating with the wine, and mixing only until both are incorporated.
  5. Line your muffin pan with muffin cups. Fill each muffin cup 2/3 of the way with the cupcake batter. Bake for 20-25 minutes.
  6. When the cupcake has cooled, grab a pairing knife & cut a square in the middle of each cupcake. Take out the square & there will be a hole in the middle of the cupcake.

  1. Fill the square with lemon curd.

  1. Top each cupcake with Sauvignon Blanc frosting.

Lemon Curd

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice ( 2 lemons)
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine, melted
  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon peel

Directions:

In the top of a double boiler, beat eggs and sugar. Stir in lemon juice, butter and lemon peel. Cook over simmering water for 15 minutes or until thickened.

Sauvignon Blanc Frosting

  • 4 oz Butter, room temperature
  • 2 oz Cream Cheese, room temperature
  • 2 cups Powdered sugar
  • Pinch of kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp Fresh lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons Sauvignon Blanc

Directions:

  1. Cream the butter with a stand mixer (or hand mixer) on medium to high for 2 minutes. Add cream cheese and continue to mix on medium to high-speed for another 2 minutes.
  2. Add 2 cups of the powdered sugar. Mix on low-speed until incorporated and then increase speed to high speed and mix for another minute.
  3. Add salt, lemon juice and sauvignon blanc.  You’ll think this is too much liquid, but mix on medium until the salt and liquid are incorporated which they will.
  4. Add additional powdered sugar if you need it, getting to a good spreading or piping consistency.

 

14 Responses to “Two Words – Wine Cupcakes”

  1. Dana Kirby February 15, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    #wantone!

  2. Sarah February 15, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    Oh my God!

    Oh my God!

    Really, I don’t even know what to say, except yes, please. F A N T A S T I C post!!! Thank you SO much for sharing this!!

    • Miss Tasty February 15, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

      Thanks Sarah!! I can’t decide if I should share the last few with my hubby or keep them for me. 🙂

      • Sarah February 15, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

        LOL! That’s a tough call. Has he been good lately? 🙂

  3. Style Theories February 15, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    these look delicious! i cant wait to try thid recipe!

    • Miss Tasty February 15, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

      Let me know how they turn out!

  4. geet2go February 15, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    Two of my favourite words! I’d be happy to pair them, but this looks just as tasty. Can’t wait to try it, thanks for sharing!

  5. ringfingertanline February 15, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    Ohmygosh. I adore both cupcakes and alcoholic bevs. These look like a scrumptious addition to my alcoholic cupcake repertoire. I’m thinking chambord-champagne cupcakes next.

    Beautiful cupcakes and photos 🙂

    • Miss Tasty February 15, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

      I like how you think! I love chambord & champagne. Maybe we should have a breakfast of champions cupcake day??? Everyone makes their favorite breakfast cocktail into a cupcake! I’d love to do a mimosa cupcake with grand marnier.

  6. andrealweaver February 16, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    Wow thank you for sharing, these look simply delicious and I can’t wait to try and make them myself!

    • Miss Tasty February 16, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

      Thanks!! I hope you like them!

  7. Maria March 11, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    I finally made these. They are, perhaps, the greatest cupcake known to man. Thanks for recreating them!

    • Miss Tasty March 11, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

      Thank you for telling me about them!

Show some love and make a comment!

