Superfood Meal – Quinoa Salad

1 Feb

I’m sure most of you have heard of quinoa and all of the benefits it has for your diet. It’s considered a superfood because it’s a whole grain that’s high in fiber & protein. It’s also gluten-free. Quinoa is a tiny grain that cooks up like rice and has a mild, nutty flavor and a light, fluffy texture similar to couscous. You can find it next to other grains in health-food stores and your supermarket.

I’ll be honest, I don’t eat quinoa enough. I’ve had a box of it sitting in my pantry since this summer. Luckily, it doesn’t go bad.

Since I made Creamy Goat Cheese & Chicken Risotto last night, I wanted an easy meal that doesn’t require me standing over a stove. And some nights, I just want a salad. A fully loaded salad, yet not a calorie bomb.

I mentioned in yesterday’s post I’m going to use the same 4 ingredients in all of my meals this week — Chicken, goat cheese, roasted red peppers and mushrooms. I think these elements will go great in a salad, but I wanted something heartier to go with it besides a bag of mixed salad greens. Then I had a “Ding! Ding! Ding” moment. I should finally use that box of quinoa in my salad.

I’m soooo glad I did! This salad was awesome! The quinoa brings a fun texture to the dish. It’s not as mushy as couscous but not as firm as rice. I added the veggies & cooked chicken towards the end of cooking the quinoa, so they stayed crisp. I ate this salad warm, but it can also be eaten cold. I had the cold version today for lunch. I added some additional lemon, olive oil and S&P. It was really good! Another option for this salad is  add it to your favorite tortilla wrap — then you have a sandwich wrap!

Quinoa Salad with Chicken & Veggies (makes 3 cups of quinoa salad)

  • 2 cups of chicken broth or water
  • 1 cup of quinoa
  • 1/2 cooked chicken breast, cubed
  • 1/2 roasted red pepper, diced
  • 4 mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/4 onion, diced
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  • 1 tbs goat cheese
  • Mixed salad greens

Directions:

  1. In a saucepan, combine broth and quinoa. Stir and bring to a boil. Lower to a simmer and cover the saucepan. Let the quinoa cook for 10-15 minutes.
  2. When the quinoa is cooked, add in the chicken, red pepper, mushrooms, onion, olive oil & lemon to the saucepan. Mix well and taste. Add salt & pepper if needed.
  3. Add goat cheese and fold into the salad.
  4. Place salad greens on your plate and top with quinoa. Add additional goat cheese if you like. (I did!)
2 Responses to “Superfood Meal – Quinoa Salad”

  1. Bill February 1, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Your directions are so easy for an old guy to follow. You really take the mystery out of preparing a good meal. Thanks,.

  2. Sarah February 1, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    I’ve never tried quinoa, and didn’t know much about it until I read this. Thanks! It sounds good, and this looks delicious. Well done!

Show some love and make a comment!

