Cleanse Wrap Up and Citrus & Ginger Smoothie

19 Jan

I’m happy to report I made it through my 3 day cleanse of only eating fruits & vegetables. Excluding the evening of Day 2, I felt great! I have a lot of energy and I feel lighter. I lost the 5 lbs I gained from the honeymoon, which is awesome so my jeans fit again. 🙂

I had some additional fruits & veggies in my fridge this morning, so I thought I’d give this cleanse one more day. Mr. Tasty isn’t coming home until this evening, so I probably won’t be cooking for us until tomorrow.

There are a few reasons why I succeed & stuck with my plan to cleanse.

  • I had no other food to eat in my house besides fruits & veggies. This is a huuuge element of my sucess. I think if I had different types of food around, I would of caved.
  • Mr. Tasty wasn’t home. Yes, it was sad to send him off on Sunday, but when he’s not home, I tend to eat a lot better.
  • I made a commitment and proclaimed it on the blogosphere. Letting others know about a goal you have makes you more accountable.

Has there been a time when you made a commitment to something difficult and you succeed?? If you didn’t succeed, what got in your way?

Alright, onto the last smoothie post I’ll make for a looong time. This morning, I made a Citrus & Ginger Smoothie. I also threw in a couple carrots. (Yay, no more green smoothies!) This smoothie is loaded with vitiman C and it tastes great. When I took my first sip, the smoothie reminded me of a Dreamicle… well, more like a Dreamicle who had an Asian cousin. The ginger gives the smoothie a little kick. I wish I would of made this recipe sooner in the cleanse. Ginger can help with headaches and I really could of used some help on Day 2.

I can see myself making this smoothie again. I think this would be a great smoothie to have when you’re coming down with the cold. The vitiman C and ginger can help aid colds. Overall, the smoothie is really good and I really like the zing from the ginger.

Citrus & Ginger Smoothie

* 2 oranges, peeled

* 1 cup pineapple

* 1/2 banana

* 2 carrots

* 1 tsp minced ginger

* 2 oz cold water

Directions:

Put all ingredients in the blender. Blend until completely smooth. Serve cold (you may want to add ice to the blender if you’re going to drink it right away) or store in an airtight container up to 3 days.

I hope you like this one as much as I did!

Show some love and make a comment!

