Bucket List 2012: 3 day cleanse, Day 3

18 Jan

Pineapple Green Smoothie

Here I am. On to-day 3 of my cleanse. I’m not gonna lie, last night was rough. I got the “cleansing headache” which wouldn’t go away until I went to bed. I tried eating some fruit and drinking more water, but nothing was helping my head feel better. I guess it’s good I don’t have any food in my house besides fruits & vegetables. I think I might have gone on a food binge just to make myself feel better….. but I can understand why I wasn’t feeling my best. I haven’t had any caffeine, meat, dairy or grains. My body is giving me a big WTHeck.

This morning I woke up feeling great, so I’m glad I stuck it out. I worked out first thing in the morning and I had a lot of energy. Mr. Tasty isn’t coming home until Thursday evening & I’m thinking I’ll do this cleanse for one more day.

Today I made a smoothie which reminded me of my honeymoon. While we were in Hawaii, we ate so much pineapple. I love pineapple but this was the best pineapple I’ve ever eaten in my life. Every place we ate had it. The pineapple scent was so strong, you could smell it before you even took a bite. The Pineapple Green Smoothie I made this morning was very tropical tasting. I plan on making it more often because it jump starts so many memories of our time in Hawaii.

This smoothie has a lot of fruit in it – Grapefruit, Kiwi, Banana & Pineapple. The green color comes from adding 2 handfuls of spinach. When blending, don’t stop until the smoothie is free from chunks. It took about a minute of blending in the Vitamix to make sure the mixture was completely smooth.

Pineapple Green Smoothie

1 Grapefruit, peeled & deseeded

2 Kiwis, peeled

2 cups of cubed pineapple

1/2 of a banana

2 cups (handfuls) of spinach

4 oz cold water

Directions:

Put all ingredients in the blender and blend until smooth. Serve cold. Can be stored in an airtight container up to 3 days.

Show some love and make a comment!

