Butter Tea Cookies

21 Nov

Butter Cookies -- Who knew they could be so good??!!!

I wanted to add a butter recipe to the My Baking Addiction Holiday Recipe swap, so here is another post about a sweet treat.

We did this recipe in class a few weeks ago. Before baking these Tea Cookies, I didn’t think it would be a cookie I’d really care for… I mean, there is nothing to it. Personally, I like my cookies to be loaded — chocolate, caramel, raisins, peanut butter — you get the drift.

But I was wrong. Very wrong. I LOVED these cookies. I ate 6 of them during class and then continued to eat more when I got home that night. This recipe makes a lot of cookies. I was very happy to share these cookies with a co-worker of mine. Butter Cookies are her favorite because they are so simple. She gave me a very nice compliment (which always works on me). She said these cookies were the best Butter Cookies she’s ever had. It probably helped that they were delivered to her fresh, but hey, I’ll take a compliment like that any day!

You will need a piping bag and large star tip for this recipe.

Come join the fun at the My Baking Addiction and GoodLife Eats Holiday Recipe Swap sponsored by Kerrygold.

Butter Tea Cookies

340 grams                    butter, at room temperature

128 grams                     powdered sugar

50 grams                       egg whites

a few drops                   vanilla extract

 380 grams                    bread flour

2/3 teaspoon                baking powder

1 teaspoon                     salt

Sift the dry ingredients together and set aside.

Cream the butter until pale and creamy then mix in the powdered sugar.

Add the egg whites and vanilla extract slowly and mix until thoroughly incorporated.

Add the sifted dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Mix just until thoroughly incorporated, taking care to prevent over-mixing.

Using a pastry bag with a large star tip, pipe it on parchment.

Bake at 300 degrees for  20 minutes.

Decorate with dried cherry before baked or raspberry jam after baked. Dip in chocolate if desired.

Show some love and make a comment!

