Babies & Cupcakes

14 Nov

This weekend I had the honor of hosting my best friend’s babies shower. Yes, babies. She is expecting twin girls in February.

This is the 3rd baby shower I’ve attended and I know this is the next big stage in my peer group. I really wanted to make this shower special for my BF… I knew I could add a level of “Awe, this is so cute” with a sweet treat and good presentation.

First thing I thought about was what does this mom-to-be love?

1. Fall seasonal flavors.
2. She has a sweet tooth.
3. Has a strong love for candy corn, also a seasonal sweet treat.

I came across a pumpkin cupcake with cream cheese frosting on Real Simple. I’m just starting to get my baking boots on, so I was happy to follow a solid recipe. I thought it would be really cute to top this cupcake with candy corn…but not the usual candy corn you find at your local Walgreens. I wanted pink candy corn. Guess what?  They make pink candy corn! I was so excited! My plan was coming together pretty easily.

I ordered customized baby shower stickers through Vista Print. This is a go to website if you’re looking to personalize anything from stickers, banners, pens & cards. They had so many cute options for baby shower stickers. This is a go to web site for any kind of personalization materials you may need.

I also got individual cupcake boxes. This way, I could package each cupcake individually and guests could take the favor home easily.

The final piece of my cute favor plan was to hit up JoAnn Fabrics. I wanted green ribbon for each cupcake box. They had so many options! I should have measured how much I needed before buying the ribbon. I had to make an extra trip for more ribbon because I didn’t buy enough. D’oh!

So enough suspense… would you like to see my final product?

This sweet treat presentation definitely did impress! Here are the vendors I used for each element of the party favor.

Real Simple Recipe – http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/pumpkin-cupcakes-with-cream-cheese-frosting-00000000021359/index.html?xid=dailyrecnews-10-22-2011

Oriental Trading (pink candy corn) – http://www.orientaltrading.com/

Vista Print – www.vistaprint.com/

WebRestaurant Store (cupcake containers)  – http://www.webstaurantstore.com/

JoAnn Fabrics – http://www.joann.com/joann/home/home.jsp

Show some love and make a comment!

